Skip to main content

Editorial Board

Anastasia Widyadari, Editor

New Content ItemAnastasia joined BMC in May 2022. She holds a PhD in Medicine from University of Leeds where she studied the role of DOCK4 in glioblastoma, and the pathological effects of radiotherapy on the vasculature of recurrent glioblastoma. Previously, she earned her BSc (Hons) degree in Biomedical Sciences from the University of Brighton. In 2016, Anastasia worked at the Eijkman Institute of Molecular Biology in Jakarta, Indonesia, studying the genetics of obesity. She is committed to championing open access and reproducible research in science. 

Anastasia is based in the London office and is the editor of BMC Medical Ethics, BMC Complementary Medicine and Therapies, BMC Pharmacology and Toxicology, and BMC Proceedings.

Senior Editorial Board Member

Raffaella Ravinetto

Raffaella Ravinetto picRaffaella Ravinetto, PharmD, PhD, has a thirty-year experience in commercial and non-commercial clinical research, humanitarian programmes, pharmaceutical policies, and research ethics review. She is an associate professor in pharmaceutical public health at the Public Health Department of the Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM) in Antwerp, Belgium; the chairperson of the ITM Institutional Review Board; the chairperson of the MSF Ethics Review Board; and an extraordinary professor at the School of Public Health, University of Western Cape, South Africa. She was the president of Médecins Sans Frontières Italy from 2007 to 2011. Her main areas of interest include pharmaceutical policies and equitable access to quality-assured health products, with a particular focus on the context of low- and middle-income countries; and research ethics, particularly in relation to resource-constrained settings and vulnerable populations.

Editorial Board Members

Senior Editorial Board Member
Raffaella Ravinetto, Institute of Tropical Medicine, Belgium

Editorial Board Members
Ghiath Alahmad, King Abdullah International Medical Research Center, Saudi Arabia
Claudia Bozzaro, Albert-Ludwigs-University, Germany
Laura Leondina Campanozzi, Campus Bio-Medico University of Rome, Italy
Primus Chi, KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kenya
Steven S Coughlin, Augusta University, USA
Nathan Emmerich, Queen's University Belfast, UK
Cynthia Forlini, The University of Sydney, Australia
Simona Giordano, University of Manchester, UK
Muhammad Hammami, Loma Linda University, USA
Ruth Horn, University of Augsburg, Germany
Marcello Ienca, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Niklas Juth, Karolinska institutet, Sweden
Genevieve Kanter, University of Southern California, USA
Adam La Caze, The University of Queensland, Australia
Jonathan Lewis, Dublin City University, Ireland
Fernando Lolas, University of Chile, Chile
Sassy Molyneux, KEMRI-Wellcome Trust, Kenya
Anke Oerlemans, University of Birmingham, UK
Aasim Padela, The University of Chicago, USA
Bridgett Pratt, University of Melbourne, Australia
Joona Räsänen, University of Turku, Finland
Pietro Refolo, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy
Cristina Richie, TU Delft, Netherlands
Lars Sandman, University of Borås, Sweden
Jan Schildmann, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Matthé Scholten, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Kadri Simm, University of Tartu, Estonia
Daniel Sperling, University of Haifa, Israel
Florian Steger, Ulm University, Institute of the History, Philosophy and Ethics of Medicine, Germany
Manuel Trachsel, University of Zurich, Switzerland
John Noel Viana, The Australian National University and Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia
Keiichiro Yamamoto, The National Center for Global Health and Medicine, Japan

Editorial Advisors
Akira Akabayashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Solly Benatar, University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics, Canada
Lisa A Bero, University of California, San Francisco, USA
Timothy Caulfield, University of Alberta, Canada
Bernard Dickens, University of Toronto, Canada
Annette Dula, University of Colorado, USA
Ezekiel Emanuel, National Institutes of Health, USA
Joseph Fins, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, USA
Mary Ann Lansang, The INCLEN Trust, Philippines
Andreas Lundh, Rigshospitalet, Denmark
Paul Ndebele, Medical Research Council of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
James L Nelson, Michigan State University, USA
Ole Norheim, University of Bergen, Norway
Wendy A Rogers, Macquarie University, Australia
Godfrey GT Tangwa, University of Yaounde, Cameroon
Susan Wolf, University of Minnesota, USA

Statistical Advisors
Maia Lesosky, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Tomohiro Shinozaki, Tokyo University of Science, Japan

Annual Journal Metrics

  • 2022 Citation Impact
    2.7 - 2-year Impact Factor
    3.5 - 5-year Impact Factor
    1.410 - SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)
    0.809 - SJR (SCImago Journal Rank)

    2022 Speed
    37 days submission to first editorial decision for all manuscripts (Median)
    170 days submission to accept (Median)

    2022 Usage 
    7,262 Altmetric mentions 

Peer-review Terminology

  • The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal:

    Identity transparency: Single anonymized

    Reviewer interacts with: Editor

    Review information published: Review reports. Reviewer Identities reviewer opt in. Author/reviewer communication

    More information is available here

Sign up for article alerts and news from this journal