Skip to main content

Table 3 UK military values

From: Ethical challenges experienced by UK military medical personnel deployed to Sierra Leone (operation GRITROCK) during the 2014–2015 Ebola outbreak: a qualitative study

The three services that comprise the UK military, The Royal Air Force, the Royal Navy and the Army, articulate their own values and ethos. In summary, they are as follows:
Royal Air Force’s ‘Core values and standards’ [14] are:
Respect – Mutual and Self Respect
Integrity – Moral Courage – Honesty – Responsibility – Justice
Service – Physical Courage – Loyalty – Commitment – Teamwork
Excellence – Personal Excellence – Discipline – Pride
Royal Navy’s ‘Core Values’ [15] are: commitment, courage, discipline, respect for others, integrity, loyalty
The Army’s ‘Values and Standards’ [16] are: loyalty, integrity, courage, discipline, respect for others and selfless commitment
The Royal Marines (part of the Royal Navy) has its own distinctive ethos and values. [17] The Royal Marines ethos is made up of the individual ‘Commando Spirit’ (courage, determination, unselfishness, and cheerfulness in the face of adversity) and the collective ‘Group Values’ of courage, unity, determination, adaptability, unselfishness, humility, cheerfulness, professional standards, fortitude and commando humour.